Fairfax County Government, Courts Open With Unscheduled Leave for County Employees Wednesday, Jan. 27; Schools Closed

  • Fairfax County Government offices are open Wednesday, Jan. 27, however employees have been granted unscheduled leave. Emergency service personnel should report as scheduled.
  • Fairfax County Public Schools are closed Wednesday, Jan. 27. School Age Child Care (SACC) centers are closed.
  • The Fairfax County Circuit Court, General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court are open Wednesday, Jan. 27. 

Due to the historic snow fall government facilities will have limited parking and some restricted travel lanes. Also, due to refreezing some walkways may be hazardous. Please be cautious and patient as we work to get back to normal.

Parks, Community and Recreation and Community Centers

  • If you have questions about Park Authority facilities, contact the site directly, call the Parks inclement weather line at 703-324-8661, TTY 711, or visit www.fairfaxcounty.gov/parks.
  • For Department of Neighborhood and Community Services programs and events visit www.fairfaxcounty.gov/ncs or call 703-324-4600, TTY 711.
  • The Reston Community Center and the McLean Community Center may be affected by the inclement weather. Call RCC at 703-476-4500, TTY 711, www.restoncommunitycenter.com or MCC at 703-790-0123, TTY 711, www.mcleancenter.org for their current operating status. 

Transportation: Connector, Fastran

  • Fairfax Connector bus service may be affected by the inclement weather. Check the Connector Web page at www.fairfaxconnector.com for the current operating status.

 Libraries

operating status update

13 responses to “Fairfax County Government, Courts Open With Unscheduled Leave for County Employees Wednesday, Jan. 27; Schools Closed”

  1. Melissa Pham says :

    Well, we have not been plowed as of yet. But, surrounding streets have been plowed numerous times. I have been plowing the street with a shovel while my 2 small kids stay in the house. My husband is deployed to Afghanistan. So, although I am not a government employee, I feel sorry for those who are penalized by the government for the poor planning by the county that put these people at home.

  2. Donna Jones says :

    I have a jury summons. Should I report?

  3. Amy G says :

    My road is still not plowed out, and my kids’ school is closed. How am I supposed to get to work or have someone get here to watch my kid?

  4. Ikia says :

    I have traffic court tomorrow but streets are still bad what should I do

  5. oops says :

    OOPS

  6. Teresa Davies says :

    So the roads are an ice rink, Fairfax county is open with unscheduled leave but has NO instructions for those that have jury duty. Their office does not open until 8:00 and I have to report at 8:15 (I’m at least an hour away). Since they can’t do their job by providing information specific to jury duty, they must not care very much about it. Their message recording is still from January 26th, so my guess is that they don’t spend time monitoring that either. This is unacceptable. There is no easy way to find out what my obligations are as a resident here. Fairfax, you get an F for this appalling lack of communication, especially with all of the social media available that you could have used to communicate with your constituents. I don’t plan to risk my life to get there when you can’t bother to give us information specific to jury duty. Shame on you.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Key Blizzard Updates | Fairfax County Emergency Information - January 26, 2016