Issue with Emergency Alerts Being Addressed

Posted 12:15 p.m.

A limited number of Fairfax Alerts subscribers received numerous duplicate text messages this morning due to human error.  We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration this caused.  Your patience is appreciated as the Office of Emergency Management is taking steps to make sure that the duplicate messages stop as soon as possible.  Steps are also being taken to ensure this does not happen again. We encourage you to continue to subscribe to Fairfax Alerts to receive important emergency information.

About Fairfax County Emergency Information

Official emergency information about preparedness, response and recovery from Fairfax County Government.

15 responses to “Issue with Emergency Alerts Being Addressed”

  1. Dianne Sullivan says :

    I received more than 200 hundred text messages from Fairfax Alerts this morning.

  2. dolores vestrich says :

    .Thank you for the great, timely announcements. . . I don’t mind duplicates .. . .
    .

  3. Robert Stewart says :

    You folks are doing a superb job of keeping us informed. Do not be concerned about duplicate messages; we are all big people and can deal with duplicates. The important thing is sending messages in a timely manner. So what if there are occasional duplicates. Keep up the good work!

  4. Joan C. Frankhauser says :

    I would rather get a duplicate message than miss one!

  5. Casey C. says :

    Not a problem – thanks for all of the emergency information throughout this event.

  6. Michael Horwatt says :

    I think this e-mail apologizing for duplicates is a duplicate. It’s a small price to pay for great service.

  7. Anonymous says :

    Was there a real message? I can deal with duplicates also. Thanks for all the helpful messages you send

  8. Anonymous says :

    Mine weren’t duplicates, but I received over 250 yesterday, and 91 today. The text messages were so spaced out that the message ended up being split up into hundreds. (ex: F a i r f a x C o u n t y G o v e r n m e n t …) I also received today’s message at 10:05, when I was already at work.

    I don’t mind duplicate messages, but receiving only a few words over hundreds of texts was very annoying. I have never had this problem with the alerts until yesterday.

  9. Joint Account says :

    Better to get the messages twice than not at all!

    Thanks.

    >

  10. Anonymous says :

    I received 135 messages earlier today, and about 65 messages about 1/2 hour later. These are not “duplicates” in the usual sense. It was as though a spammer had hacked my phone and was sending rapid, non-stop text messages. It was very annoying, and I was unable to stop it. I hope you are able to fix the problem, because I was planning to block the number until I realized it was from Fairfax County alerts.

  11. Richard. OBrien says :

    Appreciate the great job you are doing to keep us well informed. Another benefit of living in Fairfax County.

  12. Elizabeth says :

    My husband and I each received over 200 messages (I think that’s the max) and after clearing them out continued receiving 100+ more. This was a very annoying mistake that we couldn’t stop for many hours and makes me question those in charge of the system in an emergency. This is not an issue of accidentally receiving one twice or overlap to be sure. Please stop thanking Fairfax Alerts for duplicates, as that is not what this was about at all.

  13. Patricia says :

    Thank you, Fairfax County Emergency information, and all those who work to keep us safe, prepared and informed. Messages are great and very helpful. Tech glitches happen=life goes on. We thank you for your hard work!

  14. Anonymous says :

    It is ok as long as we get the message on time and that would be very helpful . Thanks