Seeking Relief From the Heat

Posted 8:26 a.m.

Now that more public facilities have power restored, residents who remain without power in their own homes should consider visiting these public places to seek relief from the heat. Libraries, malls, recreation centers and other places that have power are good choices.

Residents who need urgent human services assistance should call 703-222-0880, TTY 711, which provides information, referral, linkage, and advocacy to public and private human services available to Fairfax County residents through partnerships with community-based organizations and non-profits.

Residents who know individuals needing special attention are encouraged to take a few minutes to check in on them to ensure their well-being. If residents need immediate, life-saving help, call 9-1-1.

About Fairfax County Emergency Information

Official emergency information about preparedness, response and recovery from Fairfax County Government.

5 responses to “Seeking Relief From the Heat”

  1. Frans Bax says :

    A downed tree still blocks the entrance to our neighborhood. the road blocked is near 1944 Lorraine Ave, McLean VA 22101

    When will Fairfax County address this problem. We are in Fairfax County and not Falls Church

  2. James Elmore says :

    I am disappointed in the Fairfax County Government’s response to the emergency since Friday. I had no communications, power, etc so on Saturday took most of my family, including my niece’s newborn all the way to Centerville to a friend who had A/C.

    From my call to police’s non emergency number, I learned that Fairfax County had no cooling center or overnight accommodations remotely close to our house just west of Cameron E.S. in Burgundy. While 3 family members were safe in Centerville, my 14 yo and I spent the night in our home. It was pretty bad for my 14 yo, but not so great for me at age 64. .

    If I had to do it again…I wouldn’t. I’d sleep in our car with a/c running or leave the county.

    I don’t understand why bus service wasn’t free and isn’t free right now. I don’t use normally but would in this emergency because of chaotic traffic situation.

    I don’t understand why the rec centers were not converted to emergency overnight shelters and free no matter what.

    I don’t understand why we saw no officials visit our neighborhood street since Friday. You can put all the emergency information out, but if the person in need can’t receive it because of power outage, what good is it to them. My fault of course, I hadn’t checked our one emergency radio/TV. I forgot the emergency TV would not work because it isn’t digital. Once I bought new batteries, we could get the news via radio in the home.

    I am disappointed in my own preparations, but I was so disappointed at the emergency response of county agencies.

    That said, I am sure that there were heroic efforts on the part of agencies and county employees and volunteers, but while some residents were barbecuing, others were suffering and continue to suffer.

    The media wasn’t much help with no official county representatives, as far as I could tell, making a presence on the radio. I heard reference after reference to PEPCO for Maryland but almost nothing for Dominion Power.

    There needs to be a better plan in place for emergencies, especially to deal with informing people directly, and getting infants and young children and elderly to NEARBY emergency centers.

  3. Bob Kovacs says :

    I agree with Mr. Elmore’s comments. If the county is going to tell us that some libraries and malls are open, please tell us *which* libraries and malls are open. I don’t want to drive in chaotic traffic to Tysons, only to find the mall closed.

    And don’t tell us the information is on your web site. We didn’t have Internet for two days, so there was no way to access a website. Get the information to the news media and get it on the radio or TV. (We did have a digital TV connected to an antenna, which worked pretty well — at least when the generator was running.)