Fairfax County Operating Status for Tuesday, Dec. 10

Posted at 5:50 a.m.

Fairfax County Government offices will open on time on Tuesday, Dec. 10, however employees have been granted unscheduled leave. Emergency service personnel should report as scheduled.

The Fairfax County Circuit Court, General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court will open on time.

Fairfax County Public Schools will be closed on Tuesday, Dec. 10; School Age Child Care (SACC) centers will also be closed.

49 responses to “Fairfax County Operating Status for Tuesday, Dec. 10”

  1. Anonymous says :

    This is so they can get all their employees in and then turn around and close halfway through the day, basically stranding it’s employees…typical Fairfax County. They claim to be a leader and the best but cant make a sound decision for the safety of it’s employees. I guess they didn’t learn from the last time a few inches turned into a major nightmare.

  2. Anonymous says :

    I agree. My job goes by this and of course they never close putting their employees and most other employees in the area in dangerous situations.

  3. Anonymous says :

    Because schools and daycare (which follows federal gov’t) are closed, I have two choices: take my 5 y.o. to work with me in these conditions or take leave and then not have enough to travel to grandparents’ house for Christmas, since I’m in first year of employment. Lose/lose.

  4. Anonymous says :

    Can I bring my children to court? Thanks for your less than smart decision to open the courts.

  5. Anonymous says :

    My car is covered in snow, the roads are covered in ice. I however must travel these roads to serve my civic duty as a juror?????? Not happy at all, FC.

  6. Anonymous says :

    I’ll bet that the “decision makers” stay home today!

  7. Anonymous says :

    DITTO……..This is so they can get all their employees in and then turn around and close halfway through the day, basically stranding it’s employees…typical Fairfax County. They claim to be a leader and the best but cant make a sound decision for the safety of it’s employees. I guess they didn’t learn from the last time a few inches turned into a major nightmare.

  8. Anonymous says :

    My understanding is that DC and Prince Georges County courts are closed. Please Fairfax Courts, make a decision soon!! We single moms have decisions to make! 6:41 am? Come On!! Pretend you are a single parent – what would you want for your kids? inexperienced Virginian snow drivers on the road bringing their children with them to work? really?

  9. Anonymous says :

    Fairfax County Government offices will open on time on Tuesday, Dec. 10, however employees have been granted unscheduled leave. Emergency service personnel should report as scheduled.

    The Fairfax County Circuit Court, General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court will open on time……

    …………REALLY? ………Height of stupidity!

  10. Employer says :

    Fairfax County doesn’t care about its employees. Even the federal government is closed today. Did Fairfax County not learn from the major snow storm that happened couple of years ago? SHAME!

  11. Anonymous says :

    I’m in a wheel chair and supposed to be in court today. What happens if I don’t appear????

  12. Anonymous says :

    I am not driving from reston virginia with a winter storm warning.

  13. Anonymous says :

    There is still time to do the right thing! Fairfax County doesn’t care about its employees. Even the federal government is closed today. Did Fairfax County not learn from the major snow storm that happened couple of years ago? SHAME!

  14. Anonymous says :

    Is this a joke?

    • Anonymous says :

      No – it is called a money saving solution for the government. I bet the person in charge of calling the decision will get a bonus next year for being so effective in his/ her job.
      In the meantime, I will have to forgo my holiday vacation so I can stay safe and off the streets and will look like the lazy one who stays home to my supervisor. But after two near accidents last time around in this weather, I will not risk my life again for the job. They do not seems to care about me and my safety/ livelihood, so why should I care about them?

  15. Anonymous says :

    1 hour ago I was going to make a comment much like what I read here, but I thought “no, give them time to close…”. I gave them time, and now I STILL see the courts in FFX are open? Putting at RISK the public with court business? Putting at RISK every officer, lawyer and worker? They truly don’t care. Ridiculous. Prolly close about the time I drive in the garage after a harrowing 1.5 hour drive on a road that normally would take 30 minutes (if it’s not covered in snow, wrecks, etc…).

  16. Anonymous says :

    I like how the previous post states that “a winter storm warning for snow means severe winter weather conditions are expected. Significant amounts of snow will make travel hazardous,” yet the courts are still open. Makes no sense at all.

  17. Anonymous says :

    If I need to appear in court today, provide me with transportation.

  18. Anonymous says :

    Ffx co. Do you honestly think your residents of the most populated county will be safe driving? And what about the other non residents coming to Fairfax? Your decision making is causing more than a head ache it may cause an arrest for failure to appear. I vaule my life too much to risk it even for a court appearance.

  19. Anonymous says :

    Agree with all previous posters. The fed govt is closed but FFX Cty is open??? What time in the day will they wind up closing……This is dangerous and ridiculous! Shameful to treat your own employees like this.

  20. Anonymous says :

    My work also goes by the county government operating status… please, think of the children!

  21. Sid Dewberry says :

    What is the difference between unscheduled leave and liberal leave policy? Does unscheduled leave mean employees will not be charged for time off, or does it mean the county is granting the time off as paid leave, or does it mean the employee can take a day off but the day is charged against his/her accumulated leave. Many private companies in Fairfax follow the same policies as the county for time off due to inclement weather. To many private companies liberal leave policy to these private companies means that the employee makes up his/her own mind as to whether to gamble on traveling, or stay home and take time off their accumulated leave.

  22. Anonymous says :

    I understand the decision not to close if the forecast is not happening yet but looking out at my window right now, it is snowing heavily. I live close to the FX government center and watching the local news, it is snowing all across the county. The forecast seems to be accurate on the timing and volume, 4 – 6 inches, so please make the right decision and close county offices before employees start getting on the road!

  23. Shaina says :

    Shame on you fairfax county. Why are you putting thousands in danger? Time to get the hell out of this shit-hole.

  24. Charles says :

    This is really dangerous I’m having to drive from Fredericksburg in this weather for court and the Federal Goverment is closed. Who is running this place, not the brightest crayon in the box?

  25. Anonymous says :

    I love working for the county – my agency is SUPER. The decision not to close is unfortunate. I want my employee to show that they care about me and my safety first. I am a person first – employee second.

  26. Anonymous says :

    I understand the decision not to close if the forecast is not happening yet, but now that is snowing all across the county, it’s time to make the right decision before employees start getting on the road. The forecast has been accurate so far with the timing and, looking out of my home close to the FX govt Ctr, the volume of snow. Let’s not forget about the safety of drivers and employees if the forecast is becoming a reality.

  27. E ahearn says :

    To the County Official in Charge:
    My wife is traveling through heavy snow on ice covered roads that the VA State Police cite as treacherous so your court system can conduct its business as usual. As I mind our children at home, I am saying prayers that she and her fellow traveling jury summoners will be safe. I am shocked at your decision, appalled that you are a paid County servant and angry that you put my wife, our property and our family at such high risk today. It’s utter incompetence. Shame on you! Shame on YOU!

  28. Anonymous says :

    If you think commenting on this blog will change anything you are delusional.

    • Anonymous says :

      But, hey! Good news! If you’re delusional, the county’s mental health services are still open as usual! lol.

  29. Anonymous says :

    I hate you for being open today. My husband’s company stays open if you are open. I hope he stays safe while driving to and from work today. Thanks a lot for making me worry all day while I am taking care of my baby.

  30. ME says :

    Wonder how much we end up paying in overtime for the public safety people who will have to respond to traffic and pedestrian incidents… Short sighted –but oh so not surprising– decision.

  31. ME says :

    Also… They will say they didn’t make employees drive because they could take leave w/o prior approval and stay home. Well here is a reality check. While “officially” unscheduled leave is not supposed to be frowned upon and result in consequences to the employee that is definitely not the culture in many agencies so folks put themselves in harms way just to avoid those repercussions.

  32. Anonymous says :

    I wish you’d provide information on the status of the park facilities such as the Lee District Rec Center. I know programs are cancelled but is the facility open?

  33. Anonymous says :

    Is the divers licences ceremony scheduled for 3:15 PM today going to happen? My new diver needs to attend to get his license and they have said the courts are open. Does it make sense to have the new drivers out in these conditions? I have to meet him there, because, like the county my company doesn’t close either and I am required to be in.

    please post soon so we can plan accordingly.

  34. annonymous says :

    At least we have a tutorial on how to shovel snow.

  35. David says :

    It looks like the afternoon conditions justify the Court’s staying open. It was not that bad I for one think.

    More importantly, if the Court had lost another day of work this week, it would have been incredibly difficult on the dockets of all the courts. As it is, I suspect a number of trials may have had to be rescheduled.

  36. Anonymous says :

    The roads were fine. Anyone with sense could have driven. This is full of a bunch of whiners who want a free day off work, we ALL do, it just isn’t going to happen this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35,188 other followers